Hell Or High Water – Review

hell-or-high-water-2016-movie-po

Sorry If I didn’t post for a week, but don’t worry, this “Oscar Countdown” will likely be posted everyday ( or almost ) just like last year. So for now apreciate one of the reviews – “Hell Or High Water”.

For starters, this film talks about a divorced father and his ex-con brother that resort to a desperate scheme in order to save their family’s ranch in West Texas by robbing banks, while a couple of Sheriffs try to stop them.

In this western flick, the names involved pass through Chris Pine, Ben Foster, Jeff Bridges and Gil Birmingham, director David Mackenzie and writer Taylor Sheridan credited for “Sicario”. So, from this cast of personalities you can already expect a promising movie, and let me tell you that it delivered. I don’t know why but all the movies that are nominated for the Oscars almost got no buzz, so when I go see them I don’t know what I am going to see or expect, leading to a lot of suprises ( though some bad eggs can hatch *cough” Bridge Of Spies” cough* ).

Either way, in this case it was a total surprise. I mean, the cast is stellar with exceptional performances, specially, Jeff Bridges ( as always ) but not forgetting about Ben Foster’s work, the narrative had a very good pace to it, the plot points were pretty cool and awesome and, of course, the characters were badass as hell. This is the western flick that everybody should watch, wether you are a fan of this genre or not.

The fight sequences are awesome to see, however in my perspective this movie was central on the allure between the characters and when I say characters, I mean all of them. And that is important in a movie considering that more the appeal in the relation between the characters, more the attractiveness and interest in theirs dialogue.

In addition, now that I think about it, I can’t seem to referenciate the character that stole the show because, even though I mentioned Jeff and Ben’s performances up there, Chris Pine’s act was magnificient too, so just another proof of how expendable this film really is.

Also, it is awesome to see that this thriller is considered by many as the best movie of 2016, which I can’t argue that much ( yet ) since I haven’t watched the most critically acclaimed movies of last year, nonetheless I can totally see the reason why it is a top contender.

Concluding, this picture is a must see, not because it is nominated for the Oscars but for what the experience of watching it transpires to you. Frankly, I can’t see any flaws, maybe a lack of development of some parts but nothing harmfull, so a worthy Oscar nominated film. Despite the lack of nominations ! ( Oh….Academy )

What do you think of this film ? Is it awesome or just another wild west film ?

Nominated for : Best Picture, Best Film Editing and Best Writing ( Original Screenplay ).

I rate : 8,0 / 10

6 thoughts on “Hell Or High Water – Review

Leave a Reply

